defyingfibromyalgia

My journey from CAN'T to CAN – one workout at a time.

Courage

Leave a comment

Slide1As I was writing my last post, “No, You Can’t” | “Yes, I CAN”I started thinking about the things that influence this choice we make to shut down the voice that tells us we can’t.  I thought about the courage involved in making the changes necessary to these types of challenges and the things most of us must face along the way.  One thing stands out above all other choices: relationships.

Who’s In Your Life?

Do you ever think about the kinds of people you surround yourself with?

Do they lift you up? Do they inspire you?  Do they motivate you to push through obstacles to achieve your goals? Do they make you feel as though all things are possible?

Or, do they bring you down?  Do they say “No, you can’t” when you talk about your dreams and aspirations? Do they bring negativity everywhere they go?  Do they suck the positive energy out of the room?  (I call them energy vampires)  Do they make you feel as though your goals are unrealistic and/or impossible?

I believe if you surround yourself with the latter, you’re more likely to listen to the inner voice that tells you “no, you can’t” than the positive one.  Think about it.  If you’re around negative people, don’t you become more negative?  Don’t they put you in a bad mood?  Don’t they bring a note of pessimism to all things?  Then why are they in your life?

Accentuate the Positive, Eliminate the Negative

Okay, this is where courage might come in handy.  When you have this revelation — this reality check that you may need to rethink some of your friendships and other relationships — it’s time to take action.  The way I see it, you have two choices:

  • Have a heart to heart with the person in the hopes that they are unaware of their negativity.  Sometimes, that’s all it takes to change a person’s life.  Maybe they’re longing for someone to help them turn things around.  Maybe you could be that person.
  • Remove them from your life.  Sounds harsh, right?  Well, what’s more harsh: allowing someone to ruin your positive moods and encourage you to give up on your dreams OR having the courage to surround yourself with people make life better?  Sometimes your only course of action is to move on.

Become Who You Really Are

It’s amazing to discover the difference in your life when these changes are made.  After many years of hard work, and a LOT of courage, I can honestly say I surround myself with people that inspire me.  People that make me strive for better.  People that support me no matter what.  People that tell me “yes, you can” even when I’m not sure if it’s possible.  Sometimes I’m astonished by just how great that feels.  I think about the things my friends are accomplishing right now and I think, “how did I get so fortunate to have someone that amazing in my life?”

These are the kinds of people you need in your life, if you don’t already have them.  This is how you find the courage to take risks that could truly change your life for the better.  The courage to face a challenge head on and find out what might happen if you try.  It’s true, this kind of determination comes from within, but there’s a lot to be said for having a group of people cheering you on along the way.

TBB_blue

Get more info on Beachbody products here:

beachbodycoach.com/WendyGordon

myshakeology.com/WendyGordon

myultimatereset.com/WendyGordon

 

Leave a Reply

