defyingfibromyalgia

My journey from CAN'T to CAN – one workout at a time.

Why Shakeology?

1 Comment

The more important question is, why not?  

Investing in yourself, in your health, requires sacrifice.  There’s no question that some shuffling has to be done to accommodate the budgetary needs of adding something new to your daily menu.  But, sacrifice makes possible great rewards.  At least in the case of Shakeology.  So, why am I so into this product dubbed “The Healthiest Meal of the Day”?  Well, because it literally is the healthiest meal of the day.

Tell me more, tell me more.

Okay, so if that explanation isn’t quite enough for you, let me expand on it a bit.  I won’t get into the technicalities of Shakeology (it contains x% of this, and x% of that) – you can read that on your own.  What I will discuss is how Shakeology helps me.

IMG_2898

ENERGY!

So, apparently, when you get all the nutrients you need for the day in one healthy shake, you have a TON of energy.  Maybe that’s because our bodies are typically deprived of these ingredients.  Maybe it’s because the ingredients used for Shakeology are the purest available on earth.  Whatever the reason, all I know is Shakeology gives me energy.  And, this is coming from someone that has lived in a constant state of exhaustion (fibromyalgia-style) for YEARS.  After having Shakeology for a couple of days, I was completely taken aback when I realized: “I’M NOT TIRED!”

Balance

The nutrients in Shakeology create harmony – both physically and mentally.  It’s difficult to explain, but it gives me a sense of balance that was lacking before.

6ff1f-foodfuel3

Eatin’ Right!

By starting my day with Shakeology, I am setting the tone for the whole day.  It’s my way of telling my body “I will nourish you today with the proper food.  I will eat healthy all day!” – somehow, it makes me not want junky foods.

Fibromyalgia

I had read some things prior to starting Shakeology that suggested it could actually help with fibromyalgia symptoms.  I thought it was too good to be true.  But, it IS true.  Aside from addressing “fibro fatigue”, it also helps tremendously with fibro fog, pain, and depression – to name a few.  Along with the Ultimate Reset and my fitness program (TURBOFIRE!), Shakeology has all but eradicated my symptoms.  But, without Shakeology, I truly don’t think I would have even been able to begin Turbo Jam or any cardio program.

                                                                                  DEEEEE-licious

One of my FAVORITE things aboSlide1ut this amazing, healthiest-meal-of-the-day beverage is the taste.  You can really tell they put a lot of effort into the formula and were careful to pick the best of the best.  Personally, I prefer the Vegan Chocolate (because, hello, I’m vegan) and I’m stuck on making it this way:

  • 12 oz. Almond Milk (plain, unsweetened)
  • 2 tsp. peanut butter
  • 1 frozen banana*
  • 4 oz. water*

*We use frozen bananas because we live in a somewhat remote area and only go shopping once a week.  Also, I have a distaste for overly ripe bananas.  If you use fresh bananas, substitute the 4 oz. of water for 8 ice cubes and you’re good to go!

Cost

I realize for many people, the cost is an issue. BUT, when you calculate it versus the cost of a meal (or going to Starbucks every day), it is a very affordable option.  Here’s the breakdown:

  • The cost of a 30-day supply of Shakeology: $129.95
  • Cost per meal breakdown: 129.95 ÷ 30 meals (1 per day for 30 days) = $4.33

Let’s compare that with a typical meal or visit to Starbucks:

  • Cost of a Venti Mocha: $4.25 (no food here folks; just coffee, fat, and sugar) = – .08 vs. Shakeology
  • Cost of a breakfast meal at your favorite fast food joint: $4.50 = + .17 vs. Shakeology

Need I go on?

The Moral of the Story?

Shakeology is amazing.  It’s my favorite meal of the day and I believe it will improve the wellness of anyone that tries it.

TBB_blue

Get more info on Beachbody products here:

beachbodycoach.com/WendyGordon

myshakeology.com/WendyGordon

myultimatereset.com/WendyGordon

One thought on “Why Shakeology?

  1. Pingback: How’s Your Nutrition? | defyingfibromyalgia

Leave a Reply

